HIstory Awards for 2017

The Department of History at the University of Sydney would like to offer warm congratulations to the History Department Prize winners, who received their awards at the annual SOPHI Prize Ceremony on Tuesday May 1. And thanks to award-winner Sarah Charak for her wonderful speech that evening. Given the hundreds of students in our history classes, and the quality of so much of their work, winning these prizes is a huge accomplishment. Again, many congratulations to all.
The winners were as follows:
A.E. (Tony) Cahill History Prize – Samuel Goldberg
Aisling Society of Sydney Prize for an essay on Irish or Irish-Australian History – Ciara Smart
Charles Trimby Burfitt Prize for the Study of Australian History Prior to 1900 – Jeanne Apolonio
Ernest Bramsted Prize for Modern or Medieval European History – Emily Paget
George Arnold Wood Memorial Prize for History I – Samuel Goldberg
George Arnold Wood Memorial Prize for History II – Xanthe Peta Robinson
George Vari Prize For History And Medieval Studies – Jemimah Back and Nicole Leong
GS Caird Scholarship in History II – Colin Taylor
Helen Newbon Bennett Memorial Prize for Senior History – Pola Cohen
History Department Prize for outstanding work in HSTY3901 – Alison Lee
History Department Prize for outstanding work in HSTY3902 – Sarah Charak
History Department Prize for outstanding work in HSTY3903 – Sally Ghattas
History Department Prize for an outstanding essay on a subject relating to social justice and/or social inclusion – Ashleigh Taylor
Isabel M. King Memorial Prize for History III – James Collier and Daniel Swain
J.H.M. Nolan Memorial Prize for Proficiency in History – Sarah Charak – Student speaker
Maud Stiles Memorial Prize in Senior History – Radha Wahyuwidayat
Philippe Erdos Prize in History – Alexander Jackman
SOPHI Awards.jpg

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *